Why are there so many generic increased damage nodes in skill trees?

I’m not a LE expert, but i’ve played action RPG’s before and i know how to read numbers. It is incredibly easy to tell from a quick glance that each skill tree has many “dead weight” nodes. Mostly they are just generic “% increased damage” or “% chance for random ailment” in there.

Now don’t get me wrong. I understand that some of these nodes are stepping stones to other more powerful nodes down the path, but in many cases this is not the case. In almost every ability in the game exists a node that goes absolutely nowhere and provides a minor benefit that would lead to less than 1% more damage for the ability itself. Some abilities even have whole tree branches that are so horribly bad that a single point put elsewhere would provide more value.

The cool nodes in skill trees are those which change how the skill behaves, those who have synergy with other skills and those that give conditional multiplicative damage. Everything else is flavorless stuffing that just misleadingly inflates the skill to look better than it actually is. Many skills have only 1 or 2 viable ways to build them because if this.

Adding “dead weight” nodes is not good game design. It’s wasted development time to code a feature that nobody would use. So please - whenever you re-balance abilities take a second to think if the node adds something inciting to the tree or at the very least adds multiplicative damage. If the answer is “NO” then said node has no place in the skill tree…

4 Likes

It might be not as easy as you think, when you don’t have enough experience with the game systems and scaling.

This is not true,

Everything inside skill spec trees is multiplicative, with the exception of some global buffs, that affect more than just the given skill.