Please give us a true hard difficulty mode

While I appreciate the boots option I think it is fundamentally a poor choice of a difficulty implementation because it ignores basic human psychology. Just like water we are hardwired to seek the path of least resistance. It is much too tempting to unequip the boots if you reach a point of struggle and your brain will come up with some justification for it instead of doing the hard work of figuring out how to get past it.
Giving us the option to turn on or off the difficulty from moment to moment isn’t a choice we should be able to make. It needs to be an all or nothing choice with no take backs. Otherwise the temptation to cheat ourselves is too great for most people to ignore.

Also I am not an expert on all classes but I would hazard a guess that there could be a build that would not properly function without the ability to use a proper boot. I didn’t play before 1.0 but I recall hearing that there used to be such a difficulty mode available. I really hope the devs reconsider and bring it back at some point. I feel like a lot of people would consider such a mode fun and challenging but while it’s simply a choice of equipping a piece of gear I don’t have much interest in the challenge.

2 Likes

What is the mechanism for turning on hard mode? Is it taking off your boots?! That is very weird. And how are players supposed to know about this? Isn’t it also a fact that when you pick up a piece of gear that’s not currently equipped, you will automatically equip what you pick up? You wouldn’t be able to pick up boots to sell/trade, and accidentally picking up boots would ruin your day, too. So this seems like a horrible way to implement a difficulty mode.

Indeed there was. I think it was called masochist mode

You could turn off masochist mode.

The devs are very much about not bricking characters. The only current choice that is forever is mastery and im sure with enough pushback that will change or be discussed.