New formula to show REAL dps?

Hello, today I tuned in to the last epoch dev livestream. And asked a question about the accuracy of the dps tooltip. In short the dev did a great job at explaining in a simple way why it’s very hard to calculate the REAL damage of a skill, because of all the conditions it can’t take into account like “20% chance to deal x more dmg to elite monsters” and similar modifiers.

What I wanted to suggest, Is a system based on average damage pec second. by remembering the damage you did to the last 10 monsters and how many hits you did (or something similar perhaps). Obviously it will change with every encounter and with each new mob attacked.
But it will be somewhat more accurate knowing how much average dps you are capable of doing by recent blows you inflicted with a certain skill?

What do you guys think? I’m not a developer myself so I don’t know the full meaning or complexity of my suggestion… just an idea.

Ps: devs are amazing and I look forward to further developments! And the current dps helps to distinguish between equip upgrades regardless if it shows true dps or not :slight_smile: so thats a big QOL improvement already

If the tooltips dps get’s more features i think, conditional stuff like this should go into a seperate info box, maybe on the character sheet.

With alot of conditional stuff tooltips dps can get unneccessary complex.
Of course some informations that are currently not included in the calculation are important.

I am all in to include all sorts of advanced stuff into a more advanced tooltip.

But i personally don’t like the idea of tooltip dps being dependong on the last X hits/monster you dealt damage too.

I thinks it’s really important to not overload the UI with information, even though some of these informations might be usefull, it can make the UI not very pleasant to read.

1 Like