Hi, Welcome to the forums…
All Last Epoch savegames and config files are in:
BootDrive:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\LocalLow\Eleventh Hour Games
If you make ANY changes to this folder (including deleting things without checking first) OR change “logged-in” user etc, then LE could be affected.
If you use Steam & Steam Cloud Saves, then this complicates things as Steam will then also copy your savegames to the cloud and try and keep the local files in sync with the cloud versions… (Most times this works fine, but when something goes wrong it usually goes VERY wrong.)
If the game crashes while trying to save something, then there is a chance that the savegame can become corrupted - unfortunately nothing that can be done if that happens.
When multiplayer is launched then we will have the option of server based savegames for online play and we will STILL KEEP the local savegames for single player offline play.
So… if the savegames in the last epoch folder referenced above have been deleted then there is nothing anyone can do…
The only way to make sure this doesnt happen again is to manually make backups - that way the worst you can lose is the last playsession… Its what I do with all beta games (and some launched too).