How to Make Monoliths More Fun: Gambling!

I started playing this game about a year ago, and I’ve picked it up and put it down several times since. I’ll be blunt: the thing that makes me put it down every time is making a 2nd character and going through the low-level monoliths. There isn’t a nice or positively constructive way to say it. Monoliths suck before they’re empowered.

I see a lot of suggestions about monoliths. No one really seems happy with them, and there’s several reasons why, but I think the biggest one is that getting to Empowered Monoliths gets incredibly repetitive and tedious very quickly.

I agree with this, but the issue is, a lot of the suggestions that I read involve totally reworking monoliths, which is not feasible or realistic. They also fail to consider that the issue with monoliths isn’t structural — they feel fine to play, and once you get to empowered monoliths the game picks up (for me, at least).

The core issue with monoliths is that doing them doesn’t actually represent a risk.

Everything else in this game that’s fun involves some sort of risk. Crafting, creating a legendary item, gambling, playing hardcore…they all have you asking the quintessential ARPG question: “Did I just screw up?” (or the alternative: “How can I prevent myself from screwing up?”). I’ve never asked that question while grinding through the low-level monoliths. And, of course, this might be a draw for some people — being able to boot up an ARPG without having to hassle with PoE’s myriad of systems or Grim Dawn’s tedious level design can be really fun…but there should be the option to have more for those who want more.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot, and I think I’ve come up with a very simple solution that could realistically be implemented without removing the accessibility of Last Epoch: spending materials to make monoliths harder and more rewarding.