Help me return to masochism pls

Hi about a year ago or so i would play a lot of masochist mode, im assuming new story has come out since then, since i am no longer capable of creating masochist character, could i get some help in unlocking this again pls- what must i complete?

Welcome to the forum…

what do you mean? Masochist is still an option to select when creating a new character:

Thats odd…

I havent heard of it being locked behind any achievement or anything. Its always been there for me and I have been playing for almost 2 years and I dont have any hardcore or masochist characters…

Are you using the latest version 0.8.5c?
Have you done a game file verification if you are using Steam?
Have you attempted to chose the Hardcore option to see if this then shows up the Masochist alternative?

@Llama8 - Do you have any idea why Masochist mode isnt showing for this person?

Can confirm 0.8.5c, and unfortunately both trying hardcore, and verifying files- did nothing

Lets see what the old Llama knows…

Honestly, I have never even noticed if the Masochist option needed anything… its just always been there for me whenever I made a new char… Maybe it is behind some sort of achievement that I never noticed because I did it early on?

I am assuming that you have completed the whole campaign at least once? and maybe unlocked Empowered Monos (lvl 100 maps) at least once on a char?

I think the first time i had to complete the last boss (lightning water guy), from what i’ve read this time i believe the same is true (the snake boss at end instead)
I have only ever completed a few monoliths zones, 1 or 2 at the end of my previous campaign completion, and 1 or 2 at the end of this campaign completion

big negative on lvl 100 monos- char reached 68 and did 1 or 2 monos before i started playing masochist mode, and since having this issue i pushed to 70 and through the new quests then 1 or 2 monos