Glancing Blow Questions

I tried searching for all info related to GB and Apostacy passive but it looks like aside from one topic that goes over it a bit, everything else is outdated.

Things I’ve gathered:

GB = 35% reduced damage on the blow
Apostacy = 200% dodge > GB, cannot dodge
GB no need to go over 100%

I’m fairly new to experimenting with Rogue, is this a good tradeoff? 50% dodge rating to 100% GB and I assume making a large health pool and throwing in crit avoidance

Or is it better to keep the native GB chance in passive (36%?) and dodge chance

I like tankier play styles so that’s what I was trying to aim for looking into this, with rogue I wanted to see if I could make it take a bit of beating without heavy kiting in the build I’m making

This also brings me to my next question, is 100% GB and Thiefguard with a good health pool a strong defense/interaction or not worth it?

Thanks everyone

I think it’s an option, certainly, whether Apostacy is “better” than hitting 100% glancing blow (which is fairly easy for a DW sword build) is not something I’ve done the maths on, but I’d think that for any non-dual swords build it might be worth it depending on how you build the rest of the character.

I think the Apostacy node is a very interesting node. You can get a very powerful defence (35% DR with 100% uptime against hits as well as the heal from Thiefguard) and it can free up a lot of defensive affix slots making gearing more flexible/easier, but you do pay quite a high price for it (no dodge).

If you’re going to have a high GB chance, then Thiefguard & the similar affixes are a good idea, especially if you have some affixes to increase your chance for Dusk Shoud on melee hit.

TLDR, just asking “is it worth it” is too wide a question, it depends on your build & your gear. Should every Rogue take it? No. Can you benefit from it if you build around it? Probably.

1 Like