Forge Guard minions build help

Hello! This is my first time posting a build and asking for help here,. If any of you are bored and would be so kind to help me, it would be appreciated. You can skip to the last paragraph (also skipping the build planner) if you don’t want to read much.

I know my resistances need a lot of sorting (got good items with great resistances without managing the rest of my items). My main hand could be better with an exalted (I was using a legendary Palarus’ Sacred Light while specced into Smite before). I haven’t rolled good blessings yet either… but I think looking into the build planner is not really necessary for you if you want to help.

The biggest problem with my build is it’s theme and skills. As I imagine, the idea of going Forge Guard with minions is keeping a good weapon with which you can still do good damage yourself while your Forge Weapons (and Manifest Armor if you give it a sword) scale off of it. The problem has been finding good skills for that.
So far, I leveled my character with Rive and Smite, having little damage. Then I upgraded a bit with Shield Bash but the mana cost was high while keeping Forged Weapons up. Now I’m trying Sigils of Hope and Healing Hands while I’m at it. All of these felt bad.

Most of the problems surely come from not having good enough stats. Another big problem is that I want to play with Ring of Shields, but the skill is bugged. All in all, I’d like to know your suggestions on where to go with this build, including what skills to use. I’m willing to drop Manifest Armor if you think that’s a good idea, but Forge Strike and its minions have to stay (and preferably Shield Rush too because it’s fun).

Your main focus seems to be minions for attacking. In that case, you should definitely consider Void Cleave with Molten Blades and Scorching Path (top left). It’s a skill on cooldown, and you want to hit your minions with it to give them huge fire damage boost.