Dungeon Feedback 0.9 Part 1

I’ve been running the dungeons for a few months offline, but wanted to wait until I re-levled a character properly online in 0.9 to give feedback. I will only be discussing Temporal Sanctum and Lightless Arbor in Depth. I haven’t had much time to run the others extensively enough to form a current opinion on them. I will note that Soulfire Bastion felt to be the most balanced in both difficulty and reward, while T4 arena felt way too overturned at the 500%+ increased damage range. For each dungeon, I’d like to address a few different categories which include:

1. Theme and level design
  2. Dungeon Mechanic
  3. Mobs
  4. Boss fight
  5. Reward

Temporal Sanctum

Theme and Level Design

I really like the theme and design of the dungeon. It feels maze-like and treacherous regardless of the timeline. The pacing and pack size also feels appropriate. One thing I feel that is off about the current design is what I’d like to call signaling.

Signaling is when the environment tells a story that guides a player through an area to give some familiarity within a random tileset. Path of Exile does an excellent job at this. No matter how many versions of the campaign you run or tilesets you encounter in a map there is key signaling throughout the environment that tells you roughly where you are. I believe the Devs attempted this with Julra’s notebook placement, but it still feels like the system could be built up a bit more. I don’t mind the current maze but would like to know if I am getting closer to a random exit. Currently, it never feels like I am getting closer or further away from my objective.

Dungeon Mechanic