[0.8.3d] Gotta freeze 'em all - 250+ corruption cold sorcerer

EDIT: See Still freezin' - Static Orb/Ice Barrage cold sorcerer - Freezing T4 Julra and 600+ corruption bosses for an updated version.

Edit2: Added a video showing uncut random echoes at 300 corruption.
Edit: Updated the Video to show the Formosus fight as well.

Since I started playing this game and the mage class I wanted to make a viable freeze based build which is able to run decently high corruption monoliths while freezing rares constantly and bosses regularly. In 0.8.2 I played around with Glacier, Ice Barrage, Volcanic Orb and Lightening Blast but the tools didnā€™t work together as expected.

The new patch 0.8.3 now added amazing support uniques and the new static orb rework to the game which finally makes the build viable. Iā€™m currently freezing content around 250 corruption constantly and still have room to improve. If a second Oceareon would drop I could effectively double my freeze chance again!

While the build is amazing for echoes it is decent for bosses. In the video showcase you can see an echo, Formosus and a Shade of Orobyss at 260 corruption combined with 138% increased health showing its viability for higher corruption. For the Shade of Orobyss fight the 0% void resistance can be quite difficult but I plan to improve it making the fight easier. You may notice that the freeze effect for the shade is not the well visualized but he gets frozen sometimes recognizable when is stops moving and/or casts are interrupted.

Due to its cold nature this build quite differs from other common sorcerer builds as they rarely focus on cold. We use some less common skills as well as unusual specs for some others like teleport and flame ward.