WASD movement with 1234... casting configuration

Any chance of supporting a very common and used input configuration. The movement with WASD and spell/abilities mapped to 1234… is a very common configuration used in games from World of Warcraft to Grim Dawn. Many gamers already have hardware configurations that support this setup from gaming keyboard profiles to MMO mice. I’m finding it difficult to remember which of the default keys do which. the “1234…” format can easily be setup and remembered… e.g. 1 for most used spell, 2 for second… etc. or just opening up the keybinding to allow for a choice of mouse movement or bindable up, down, left, right keys.

UPDATE: Went back to Grim Dawn, then I played and Last Epoch and now I know why LE is giving me so much trouble. It might be a setting somewhere, it could even be the class I started with (Acolyte). I’m VERY NEW to the game. Left click in LE is STRICTLY movement. In games that I’m used to like Diablo, Grim Dawn, the left click is dynamic. If I left click on ground, it moves the character. If I left click on an enemy, it’s a combo : go over there AND attack the enemy. The LE controls are left click to move to the enemy and then right click on the enemy/barrel, etc. to attack it.

I’d really like to have both left and right mouse buttons focused on murdering stuff and maybe WASD on movement. Basically, Grim Dawn controls would be ideal.

PS: Did play the game with a controller, found it easier, but I’m not a huge fan of them. I’d prefer keyboard and mouse.

1 Like

You do either WASD movement (like in a twin stick shooter) or point to click movement as we have right now.

Twin stick shooters are referred to as their own genre.

I haven’t seen a game that offers both playstyles as it very heavily characterises the gameplay. These two modes aren’t compatible to each other in the same game, imho.

So I don’t think we will see that changed.

Btw… Grim Dawn had WASD movement??

No, it doesn’t.

2 Likes