Shield Throw Sentinel

I’m kinda new to Sentinel and Shield Throw.
I’ve been playing Warpath and some build other people have created and I’ve been looking for a build I would like to make myself.

The build planner listed below is something thrown together with the knowledge I have of the skill at the moment.
Please leave some feedback with explanation so I could learn the build better.

A pure shield throw build, this has become rather rare.
I’ve seen many ST builds, most were focused on Shield Throw proc’ing Smite. The main damage deal was Smite, so that’s why the Sentinel was using a staff or a sceptre.
With a staff, you can lower your shield throw to zero mana cost or so and you can spam it.
Your build looks interesting. Do you have much damage with it?

1 Like

Haven’t fully build it out in game yet, still leveling and going through the acts.
So far I’m missing a lot of DoT in game.

I do around 1k dps at level 35/40

Hey… I am doing a Shield Throw Forge Guard and the only reason I proc Smite is for the speed buffs and a little healing - I dont use any of the smite damage nodes at all. only at level 84 and without ideal gear so far but its fairly tanky and does decent damage. Fun to play, but not sure if its going to be level 100 content viable tho…

@Moridan I think the main problem with Shield Throw as the main damage dealing attack is that there is no flat damage affixes for throwing attacks other than those added damage idols so I am expecting that my own build is likely to hit a wall fairly soon. Thats why most shield throws go the smite route and use a stat stick to boost spell damage.

Could you perhaps show your character in a build planner?
Perhaps I could get some information how you built your character and perhaps we could improve the solo shield throw.
I feel like it could be a strong build without Smite.

we should totally fix that!!! :smiley: