Questions about dancing strike, shadow daggers and their interactions

Hi, started playing recently, and I have trouble getting around some mechanics. I’m a veteran of PoE, so I’m fine with more/less/increased/reduced/hits/ailments just fine, but some stuff just feel weird.

First, let’s start by saying I saw and read this topic about shadow daggers:

While it answered some questions I had about it, it raised some more.

1. Is Shadow dagger really an ailment?

2. Why are the breakpoints at applying stacks at 50/150/250%? If I was logical about it, I would say it would be 33%, 100% and 300% (400/3, 400/2, 400/1, basically), but it doesn’t look like it. I don’t see the logic behind these figures at all.

3. In the tooltip, Shadow dagger has a manacost. Why, and why I never spend it?

4. If I use passive increasing the manacost for some effects (like Coated Blades), does it apply?

5. Given it looks like a skill is used (after appliying 4 stacks of ailment?), does it procs flow?

6. On another topic, when I asked about ailments and more damage on skills, people told me that more damage on a skill overall (compared to hits) is also applied to ailments. For instance, people gave me the example of Timing on Puncture which properly increases the bleed damage done. Does it apply to Shadow dagger as well, if the skill applying it has more damage on it? For instance, if i’m applyng shadow dagger with puncture, will timing increase its damage?

7. Can Shadow dagger apply ailments like bleed and poison? I guess it does, since it’s a hit, but again, it looks like it’s an ailment as well, and i’m not sure an ailment can apply another ailment somehow.

8. Are the tags enough for it to apply related effects, or it’s only to make it scale with damage? Is shadow dagger going to proc everything which is supposed to proc on melee AND on throwing attacks, for instance, or is it just a way to say “melee and throwing increased damage apply to it, and that’s all”?