Over-powered uniques (discussion)

Just a random thought, completely open for discussions…

I have the feeling lately that more and more uniques are being used.
Every single build I look at nowadays usually has 3, 4 uniques, sometimes even more. And I don’t mean build-defining ones, just super powerful ones that are always Best in Slot.
Could be my memory playing tricks, but it feels like when I started playing people were using far less uniques in their builds.
And I find this evolution a bit sad. It doesn’t really matter, it is just a weird feeling of boredom when everybody wears the same stuff (for example all these rogues, spellblades, even primalists, hiding behind their Bastion of Honour in builds completely unrelated to block).
Note that I am not blaming anyone, I do the same, my most recent characters use way too many uniques, because they are just far, far stronger than anything else I could craft.

So, the questions (as I said, it is open to discussion, I don’t have definitive answers):

• Are there too many uniques in the game?
  • Are some of them too powerful? Which ones do you think are “too much”. Dreamthorn? Bastion? The one giving 100% CSA (forgot the name)?
  • Is that a side-effect of legendaries, people focusing more on uniques?
  • Can we actually get a crafted BiS with good rolls, or are uniques always going to be the ultimate goal? In that case, is it a good or a bad thing?
  • What could be implemented to make gearing more diversified?

Looking forward to reading your opinions.

Oh, and to conclude, a challenge to all the Boardmans, Lizards, and other build-makers: make builds using no uniques, or just one if it brings a mechanic you cannot get otherwise. You can do it!

Edit: come to think of it, a “no-uniques” challenge mode at character creation would be rather cool. With separate stash, and ladders.

1 Like