New and have questions

Hi Im fairly new to LE, as a former Diablo, Poe player Im trying to figure this game out still. I rolled a Acolyte and got to level 74 and decided I wanted to try a Sorc. So Im playing my sorc and got to level 68 or so now. Glacial Sorc is pretty good but Im curious about items.

I found plenty of Unique items on the Necro but nothing I would even use as a summoner build. Im finding uniques on my Sorc too but not what I need. I assume the drops get better once I start running Monoliths but curious - is this a find your own items game - IE like D2 was during its day ?? Or so I have to trade for or worse buy items needed for my build to function.

Im currently running the first Monolith area, not sure what its called but nothing needed seems to falling my way. Or do i just keep running them and eventually Iā€™ll find stuff useful for my buildā€¦

Thanks in advance ā€¦

You should have encountered the Merchantā€™s Guild and Circle of Fortune by now. Members of the Merchantā€™s Guild can buy and sell items on the bazaar.

Members of the Circle of Fortune can get prophecies which are like guaranteed item drops (go kill a particular boss for a drop of 4 sets of unique boots, for example).

There is no item trading interface like in Diablo 2. All trading takes place on the bazaar.

Unlike D2, the main way to upgrade your power is via crafting.

• Your first goal is to figure out which affixes you want on your gear.

For Glacier Sorcerer itā€™s commonly +Skill levels, Intelligence, Spell Damage, Crit Chance, Crit Multiplier, but donā€™t forget defenses like Resistances, Health, Armor.

• Then you find a good ā€œbaseā€, an item with two or more of the affixes you want to have.

You can buy them from vendors, drop them in echoes, from the chest reward after completing each echo and from other sources too (Gamble, Dungeons, Bazaar, Prophecies, ā€¦).