Melee Minion feedback from long time summoner player

Hey guys, really nice game, enjoying it a lot.

I’ve been playing summoners for several years, in several games, and even bought games just because they had a summoner class, [ POE/D2/GD/TQ2/TL2/D3 etc] . Coincidentally, I bought the game because of the minion AI improvements.

So far, I played 3 necros in total till empowered monos, 1 cookie cutter ranged, 1 strictly melee and a mix. I’m going to be talking about melee minions, in particular skeletons and skeletal mage deathknights.

Ranged summons are a lot more powerful, easier to use and easier to gear for in comparison to melee summons, mainly skeletons and skeletal mages. Here are the reasons why I say this.

1. Leash range;

Current leash range is almost at the edge of the screen. If you try to kite packs of mobs while trying to avoid telegraphed attacks, you’ll very frequently have skeletons being pulled back because you went out of range. Ranged minions don’t have this issue, and they can aggro on mobs from ranges where melee minions would attempt to attack but return.

1. Melee skeleton-exclusive abilities and nodes are terrible;

Both rogues and deathknights currently have abilities you can unlock that don’t even scale with their regular base damage. Rogues have the acid flask, which scales with throwing and acid, while DKs have hungering souls which scales off of spell damage.

On top of it, rogues have a cooldown recovery node that divides its bonus based on your max amount of rogue summons, which makes it absolutely never worth it unless you’re running only 1.

Rogues also don’t have a distance limit for their teleport, which makes them lose DPS because they use it point blank. So you invest in cooldown recovery in order for them to teleport more often, and they constantly waste it point blank and skip attacks. You don’t invest in cooldown recovery and you’re stuck with them teleporting once every 2-3 packs.