Making a Build

So I have come down to really liking the beam skill and meteor trying to build around those. I am new to last epoch but not the genre. Because I have played alot of Diablo and some what poe but I never really spent time trying to make a build in those games. I think it be fun to make a build but at the same time it gets on my nerves xD. To I think I rush to make a build and it involves testing and really pushing the build to see if it works or not.

Hi! :slight_smile:

In general, I find it much easier to make a viable build in LE than in other ARPGs. So, other than the core mechanics / finding what stats to scale, you can always just try it out, and unless your build is really flawed, it’ll be viable, at the very least for non-empowered monoliths. And hey, if it doesn’t work out, you can always respec all passives and skills (but not the mastery!).

That being said, let’s talk about your idea! There are two tricky things here:

First, Meteor is a fire skill (that can be converted to lightning with a staff), while Disintegrate is Lightning/Fire by default, but can be converted to full fire or full lightning via nodes in its tree. If you want to play with both Meteor and Disintegrate, I recommend choosing an element, and making both skills that one element (the simplest would be to go full fire on both skills, so that means regular Meteor tree and Disintegrate tree that grabs the “Infernal Ray” node).

Second, the beam skill (Disintegrate) is damage over time, which doesn’t scale with crit, while Meteor is a hit, which is a hit, thus potentially scaling with crit (and Meteor in particular has some pretty decent crit nodes). That gives you two options:

• Not scaling crit at all. In this case, you’ll want to focus on raw damage (added spell damage, % increased fire or lightning damage depending on the chosen element, % increased elemental / spell damage). This also enables the use of Singularity, a unique idol.