How to Build my Paladin

I’m at the point in the game where i need to make some major decisions concerning my Hammer Throw Paladin. Since i’m completely new to this game there are many things I don’t know and where I would appreciate some advice. What kind of damage, what defenses to focus on and how to do that are my main concerns

1. With Hammer Throw there seems to be a lot of different options for damage to focus on. I was planning to just go straight Physical dmg, but are there better options or damage that i should be focusing in addition to physical. Bleed, poison and conversion to elemental all seem like viable options. Anyone of these preferable to pure physical? If physical is fine on it’s own, should i spec in lots of crit (and what skill nodes, passives and items are key for crit?) When it comes to shredding, is armor shredding enough, or do i need to get phys resistance shredding as well?

2. Lots of defensive options for this build looks like. If i go for maxing health pool, armor and max out my resistances (75%), except physical, (looks very easy on is this enough or should i get additional defense, and if so, what kind?

2a. Paladin seems to be one of the best classes for health regen, and i really like hp regen as strategy, in arpgs, when combined with adequate defenses. Can i build up enough health regen, with a combination of flat and percentage regen, so that it significantly increases my survivability. What items, passives and skills are considered to be exceptionally good when it comes to this? What would be useful to know is if the increased healing effectiveness stat benefits this (life gain on hit, block or when being hit too for that matter). On a related note, are there healing skills or stuff that procs healing that are especially good, and should i invest in heal effectiveness? Is Life gain on hit, block or when being hit good choices as well?