Help with understanding damage

Hey, I’m relatively new to the game, still level 72, and as I progress and am trying to find new gear etc I often find myself lost trying to understand why one weapon is better over another.
Just to clarify, I did read a lot of material on that but I couldn’t quite find some answers and I’m still slightly lost. Sorry if this is not the place to ask that

Anyway, I guess my first question is: is there a way to see my base damage for a specific damage type? Like base void damage, for example.
Reason I ask is because sometimes I find a weapon with +x void damage and +% increased void damage, and I’d like to know which one is a bigger increase, however without knowing my base damage I can’t really objectively compare then… Not that I know of.

Which brings me to my second question: sometimes I have to pick between two weapons, and given my stats I’m 100% sure weapon A will output more damage than weapon B, however the skill DPS in the tooltip tells me otherwise.
What I mean is, I’m playing a void knight, I’m stacking void melee damage.
My main skills are abyssal echoes, void cleave and erasing strike. Basically I use abyssal echoes to nerf the enemy (shred armor, slow, etc) and then use the sinergies between void cleave and erasing strike, with rive as fillers if I’m on cooldown or out of mana. So basically my main damage skills scale with void, melee and strength, mostly.

For example, take my last laugh here:
https://imgur.com/1untAny

It gives me +40 melee damage and +5 strength as affixes that will affect my skills damage. I don’t believe the physical damage boost would affect any skills but Rive. There’s also a 22% increased melee attack speed but I don’t think that would be a massive boost for the one shot skills. Maybe for rive that’d be good.

Now, this axe here:
https://imgur.com/vUupam3