Does Melee Leech work with Shadow Daggers?

Shadow Dagger have the Melee tag but not the Melee Attack tag. I am wondering if melee leech would work with that skill, such as points in the Rogue passive Blood Dance, or even just the general Melee Damage Leeched as Health affix? Anyone help?

I am new to all this Rogue business.

So while I am here, does Synchronized Strike count its own shadows for skill points like Shadow Rush and Foreshadowing?

Yes. Shadow Daggers has the melee tag so everything melee works with it (which is why flat melee damage makes it better). Attack speed of any kind doesnā€™t because youā€™re not attacking with it (obviously).

Shadow Daggers is an ailment. Once it hits 4 stacks it triggers a damaging thing, like Spark Charges. The ailment does no damage, the thing it triggers is what does the damage.

The only weirdness is around inheritance. Since Shadow Daggers is an ailment (& affected by any ailment application reduction modifiers like the one on Flurry) & ailments arenā€™t affected by flat damage modifiers, any skill-specific flat damage modifiers from the applying skill tree arenā€™t passed on to the proc that does the damage. Any flat damage modifiers on items or passives are used by the damaging proc, just not tjose from the applying skill tree (there are some in the Umbral Blades tree, for example).

They are synonymous as far as Iā€™m aware. Most skills use the Melee tag (probably because itā€™s shorter and all melee thibgs are attacks).

1 Like

It is the presence of the Throwing Attack tag on Shadow Daggers that made me think there must be some difference between the word ā€œAttackā€ being there or not. (Such as Shadow Daggers not counting as a melee attack and hence not triggering melee leech or some nonsense like that).