Critical Strike Avoidance - change for less damage taken

Im new to the game, and I have already read old locked topics. I would like to bring back to the table this subject, I know its polemic and as much as I am new to the game I think I have a fair opinion.
Main problem (described previously by other players, I’ll quote 2 of them:

“Crit avoidance is an all or nothing effect, crits in this game are huge (2x damage), and going with 90% avoidance will not guarantee you will not get one-shotted”.

“In LE, Crit Avoid is an “all or nothing” stat. I call it a “Binary Stat”. Either you have it, or you don’t. Crit Avoid in LE is currently reminiscent of the various layered binary defenses of Path of Exile, which feels like a step in the wrong direction.”

The alternative is that all Crit Avoid in LE is replaced with “Reduced bonus dmg taken from crits.” A player can have 90% RBDtfCrits in their build, feel rewarded for that, and also still want more. This is in stark contrast to the current system.

I know devs said its not mandatory for playing, but I think its annoying and very punishing for anyone not going the 100%. Im getting one shot with my blademaster at arena level 90. NO matter how much HP , dodge, glancing blow, the boss physical attack will at some point always 1 hit kill me. Everybody told me, do you have 100% crit avoid ? Thats your problem.

Thats kind of unanimous in the comunity that its mandatory… As I said, its very punishing not having it against some bosses. You just cant play.

Im loving almost everything in the game, but this peculiar mechanic is annoying, I think its a step in the wrong direction. Would be much better as people suggested to have a system to take less damage from the enemy critical strike. There you can build around it, even if you dont have 100% it is less punishing and more suitable for a fair and fun play, as its much more flexible.

2 Likes