Can someone 'sanity check' a build I made? (Melee cold shaman)

So I’m away for work and in my downtime I made a build that I would like to implement when I return on Friday.

The theme is a melee cold build. Maelstrom and Blizzard Totem are there purely for freeze/chill etc. Damage will come from Upheaval/GS. Unskilled leap will be on hotbar instead of Maelstrom. Will have to play around with the build to maintain 6 stacks of MS up at all times for frenzy/haste.

Remaining idol slots will be defensive in nature. No pun intended.

Any help would be appreciated, I’m a novice at this game. My main worry is survivability high corruption.

At a glance:

• Apprehend node in Warcry is wasted as Jormun’s Wrath prevents knock back and pull. I’d put it in Kinetic Scream to add some cold damage to Warcry

• I’d also move the 2 points in Staggering Roar to Whirlpool for the same reason as above. It’ll help keep Maelstrom at 6+ stacks too.

• I’d also recommend the Stormcarved Testament in your relic slot. It gives a chance to summon Storm Totem on hit. So you can spawn one in at the start and then go to town summoning it automatically

Everything else seems fine to my untrained eye

2 Likes

Thank you!

Not looking forward to farming Lagon for that relic as its a low drop rate, but at least with Shaman you naturally have high elemental resists which helps with the fight.

I’m confused by this, you can only have one storm totem active at a time. Right?

I did a similar build to this last season (maelstrom and blizzard storm totem), keeping 6 maelstrom stacks (haste/frenzy) up all the time is really hard, but you do freeze almost everything with that combo. Not bosses though.

I went tempest strike spawning tornados though, not upheavel/GS. I could lock down most things, but boss fights sucked because survivability was an issue.