Best weapon for Druid (Tornado + Maelstron + Serpent Strike)

Im new to primalist so Im having a hard time trying to figure out the logics of planning a good dps build. Some builds (including the lightning bug I will try) use these three skills, although they dont scale from the same source. Whats the trick to use they together ?

I know there are a lot of depends in here, but im trying to learn the general concept.

And about the weapon, whats the point of using dagger or swords in these builds since Tornado & Maelstron scale from Spell damage ? any tips to help me understand a little the theory ? At first by just reading the game tags I would go for Sceptre or wand, what am I missing ?

Hi, i assume we are talking about Swarmblade builds?

Swarmblade can proc those 3 skills, that’s why they are typically used with swarmblade.

Now, to simplify, there are different types of damage you can deal:
First one are ailments:

• Frostbite is strong in 0.9
  • bleed is strong
  • poison was op in 0.85 and has been gutted, especially for serpent strike… So you might find some poison builds that are not so good anymore
  • for ailment builds your base damage does not matter. You want fast hitting weapons with good affixes.

Second is Crit damage:

• to answer your dagger question: the build i think you tries to proc many tornados (needs to be fast hitting) and deal critical damage with lightning strikes. Tornado is a damage over time skill, but it can cast lightning strikes, which can crit. There is a dagger that comes with implicits melee damage, spell damage and Crit chance + it hits faster than a scepter, so you proc more lightning strikes. That said, a scepter could work too here.

Maelstrom:
It’s a high utility skill: it gives dodge, frenzy, haste, heal, chill and lightning strikes as well.

1 Like