Baldurs Gate 3 & Game Dev recently

Havent played it yet, but its on my wishlist - a youtubers perspective the gaming industry and games recently. Video comments are pretty interesting too.

2 Likes

I work in the film industry. I understand this guys premise ā€œgame industries are using this mentality to be slackā€ and on that level Iā€™d agree itā€™s crappy.

But, as an independent (TRULY) filmmaker, if I make a fantasy film, I am not going to be able to come within this solar system of Game of Thrones or Dune or Rings of Power in terms of so many variables (scope, production design, scheduling, production resources, etc, etc). And the reason that is problematic is something Iā€™ve faced all my life in the arts. If youā€™re not part of the 1%, many, MANY people think your stuff is crap because itā€™s doesnā€™t measure up to the aforementioned productions.

In the world of art something that makes it into the pop culture zeitgeist literally is an anomaly because 99.8% will never get seen. Some of it because itā€™s genuinely bad. But a lot of it is because so many people set expectations on what they last saw that had a bazillion dollar budget.

EHG is actually a pretty great example of that as well because theyā€™re a small house. I wonā€™t ever expect them to crank out the type of ā€œqualityā€ that something like Elden Rings or BG3 has. In fact, Iā€™m wiling to bet some of the reasons why this is still IN beta after 6? 7? years is because they keep upping their scope. And they listen for the most part. So they want to give us the best they can. But we all need to realize if we slavish hold them to some standard that is literally impossible to reach, itā€™ll break, which would be said because LE is a great game.