8.2 Thoughts

A little feedback about 8.2 and some of my experiences so far with it.

From the patch notes alone I knew that I had a lot to unpack and relearn from what I knew about the previous state of the game. To do this I wanted to start with a fresh level 1 character with no advantages from stored gear and see what was new from the start. Of course I had to go with the Acolyte so I could try out the puking, exploding zombies. Incredibly fun skill to play with!

The rework of the UI is well done. The map is gorgeous…just gorgeous. I did read in chat often that it was a bit bright for a lot of people, and I can see that. It’s not something that bothers me. But the detail in it, holy shit! I’ve been a map designer since the pen and paper D&D days so I know a few things about some game campaign maps. It makes me want to bring out my Ravenloft set and set them up across the map on my monitor lol. As I leveled on through the story I was noticing a lot of things added in. I noticed the ramp in difficulty more this time. I didn’t struggle, but it was pleasantly challenging.

That was until I got to monos and hit good ol Orobyss for the first time with my Acolyte and her puking flaming goons. He stomped me over and over and over lol. I didn’t even feel frustrated, I was having so much fun trying to figure out the mechanics and taking it all in. I was undergeared, so I wasn’t surprised. But, I’ll save that grind for gear for another dayl. At that point I switched over to a Druid Spriggan build I had already and used that character to explore into the Monolith system.